2020 Statewide Labor Day Events & Activities

With Labor Day just around the corner, we are reminded of what an exciting time it is to be members of Tennessee's labor movement. Thanks to the collective solidarity of all of our brothers and sisters across the state, working families are prepared to head into election season stronger than ever before. Whether at the state or local level and with the help of our Central Labor Councils, our members are engaged, motivated, and fired up to work to elect labor-endorsed candidates to office this fall. By speaking with one strong, collective voice, we have no doubt that we will make legislative gains for working families this November.

As the campaign season enters its final months, we are preparing for an inspiring few days of events that are planned to celebrate Labor Day and everything that working families have accomplished while looking ahead at what still needs to be done. Below is a list of some of the celebrations, webinars, and other happenings that are taking place through Monday, September 7th. To register or for more information, simply click on the name of each event. If needed, e-mails with information about any late additions will be sent out. Be sure to keep an eye out on Labor Day as well for an op-ed written by Tennessee AFL-CIO President Billy Dycus in several print and online media outlets. Mark your calendars today and make plans to attend one (or several) of these celebrations!

Wednesday, September 2nd

Spirit on the Ground: Stories and Strategies for Faith and Labor
-Begins at 12:00 p.m.ET/11:00 a.m. CT
-Hosted by the Wendland-Cook Program in Religion and Justice at Vanderbilt University's Divinity School

Thursday, September 3rd

Clergy Chat: Labor and Christian Social Teaching
-Begins at 10:00 a.m. ET/9:00 a.m. CT
-Hosted by St. Paul's Episcopal Church Chattanooga

Labor Live: The Power of the Union Economy
-Begins at 12:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. CT
-Hosted by the national AFL-CIO

Love & Solidarity Film Screening
-Begins at 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT
-Hosted by Tennessee's Central Labor Councils

Friday, September 4th

Labor Live: Front-line Workers and COVID-19
-Begins at 6:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. CT
-Begins at 6:30 p.m. ET
-Hosted by the Chattanooga Central Labor Council

Saturday, September 5th

Labor Day of Solidarity
-Begins at 10:00 a.m. CT
-Hosted by the Central Labor Council of Nashville & Middle Tennessee

Labor Live: The Ongoing Economic Fallout of COVID-19
-Begins at 12:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. CT
-Hosted by the national AFL-CIO

Sunday, September 6th

Labor Live: Protecting the U.S. Postal Service and Vote By Mail
-Begins at 6:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. CT
-Hosted by the national AFL-CIO

Monday, September 7th: Happy Labor Day!

Statewide Car Caravan for a Safe Return to Campus
-Begins at 1:00 p.m. CT
-Hosted by the Tennessee Education Association 

Catholic Labor Network: Labor Day Mass
-Begins at 2:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. CT
-Hosted by the Catholic Labor Network & the national AFL-CIO