Skip to main content

Dycus Re-Elected to a Third Term as TN AFL-CIO President

Alyssa Hansen
Social share icons

Tennessee AFL-CIO President Billy Dycus has been re-elected by acclamation to a third, four-year term.

"From fighting tirelessly in an attempt to keep Tennessee's 'Right to Work' law out of the state constitution and dealing with a pro-business legislature, to navigating our way through a global pandemic, it's been a difficult few years for our state's working families," Dycus said. "However, I am incredibly proud of what our membership has been able to accomplish together during that time and am humbled to have their continued trust and confidence to lead this organization."

Dycus has been a member of the United Steelworkers (USW) for over 20 years. He served two terms as vice president of USW Local 1155L before being re-elected as president in April of 2015. Since the fall of 2015, he has served as president of the Tennessee AFL-CIO Labor Council.

Secretary-Treasurer A.J. Starling, a Nashville native and member of Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU) Local 1235, was also re-elected to another term. He has served on the Davidson County Election Commission since 2004 and has been involved in numerous community and civic organizations.

"The labor movement is so much bigger than any one person or organization, which is an idea that President Dycus and I have embraced during our years of working together," Starling said. "We really are stronger when we put the concept of solidarity into action, and I know that Tennessee's labor movement has a bright future ahead of it. Our state federation is successful because of our members, and I am grateful to them for allowing me to serve." 

In addition to Dycus and Starling, the following members were elected to serve as executive officers of the Tennessee AFL-CIO: Noel Sherman (Executive Vice President), Kevin Huddleston (1st Vice President), Ernie Epps (2nd Vice President), Bill Brock (3rd Vice President), and B.R. Hardison (4th Vice President).